US Regions

By | November 2, 2013

The United states can be divided into regions different ways by different organizations.

For our purposes we have adopted the divisions and regions established by the US census bureau.

This divided the US into 4 regions and further into 9 divisions.

Northeast Region: New England & Mid-Atlantic divisions

  • New England division: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut
  • Mid-Atlantic division: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey

Midwest Region: East North Central & West North Central divisions

  • East North Central division: Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio
  • West North Central division: Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Minnesota, Iowa

South Region: South Atlantic, East South Central divisions & West South Central divisions

  • South Atlantic division: Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida
  • East South Central division: Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama
  • West South Central division: Oklahoma, Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana

West Region: Mountain & Pacific divisions

  • Mountain division: Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico
  • Pacific division: Alaska, Washington, Oregon, California, Hawaii



17 thoughts on “US Regions

  1. Discover New England Post author

    The Official Tourism Web Site for New England Travel
    Travel New England! Discover New England is the official tourism site for the New England states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Special insights for overseas travelers.

  2. South Atlantic Conference Post author

    The SAC builds the Leadership Conference’s programming to focus on developing leadership skills and challenging participants to be role models for their teammates, on campus and in the community. It also includes activities such as a ropes course and scavenger hunt.

  3. Post author

    Official Website of the Aloha State
    Connecting You to Hawaii State Government. Online Services, Why wait inline? Get it done online.

  4. Post author – Official site includes links to services available online, Governor, state agencies, Legislature, US Congressional delegation, state parks, and tax information.

    Northeast Region: New England

  5. Post author – The Official Web Site of New Hampshire State Government
    Web portal for New Hampshire State Government’s community of agency web sites and services.

    Northeast Region: New England

  6. Post author

    The Official Website of the State of Vermont – Your gateway to information about living, working, visiting, and doing business in Vermont, and to Vermont state government.

    Northeast Region: New England

  7. NY.GOV Post author

    Locate New York State Government information and services available on the Web.

    Northeast Region: Mid-Atlantic

  8. Post author the Official Web Site of the State of Pennsylvania – Your Access Point for all Pennsylvania State Government News, Information, Services, and Agencies. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania – The Keystone State.

    Northeast Region: Mid-Atlantic


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *